30 Days of Thankfulness Concluded

So, as I’m not too surprised happened, I became so busy that I never finished posting on here although I did post on FB. Here’s the last few days that appeared in my Facebook Status:

Day 16: I’m thankful for my dear church Mt. Zion Primitive Baptist Church. The Lord really blessed me in leading me to them after moving up here. So thankful for the dear members that have made me feel so welcome and took this college kid in like family from day one. I’m thankful for the Word that is preached each Sunday and for the fellowship we have together.

Day 17: I’m thankful for warm clothing on an insanely cold day. I’m also thankful that Mallory Malibu survived getting out for the sake of teaching French since I teach in a couple of places off campus on Mondays. Thankfully, the roads were clear. I hate driving in this stuff, but this Texan has definitely come a long way in winter driving after moving up here. I miss having school cancelled for an inch of snow though…

Day 18: I am thankful to have a warm place to come home to after a long frigid day.

Day 19: I am SO thankful to have gotten a thesis misunderstanding cleared up this morning. Let’s just say the colors, music, and dancing little people have returned to my little grad school world after it had seemed quite dark, gray, and sad last night. Now, to hurry up and finish this paperwork and get this thesis up and running officially!

Day 20: Thankful for food even if tonight’s experiment with a banana pancake recipe was an absolute failure. I have my own recipe, but thought I’d try someone else’s variation. I now have deep fried banana oatmeal mush…stuff. Oh, well, it’s edible at least. I then decided to put the rest of the batter in a bread pan and “bake” it. However, turning on the oven resulted in somehow breaking the control panel on the oven. That’s umm…unfortunately not the first thing I’ve broken this week. However, I’ll be thankful for my banana mush….stuff, the ability to write a plea to maintenance, and that these things are replaceable. *continues munching on banana…stuff*

Day 21: “But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.” Phil. 4:19 I am thankful that during the past 5 months especially God has made this verse more real to me. I have a tendency to passively believe something, but it is often not until I reach rock bottom of what I can do by my own strength that I realize just how much I need to depend on and trust God.

Day 22: I am thankful for closed doors though they are often frustrating to deal with when one is looking for the right path to take. I don’t understand fully why some doors have been closed in the past. However, it is a comfort to be able to trust in God’s sovereignty and to know deep within oneself that God knows best.

Day 23: I am thankful for rainy days. After experiencing some severe droughts in Texas, I always still get excited to see God’s mercy in sending rain even now that I live in an area that gets regular rainfall.

Day 24 (late): I am thankful for the passion and love of the French language that the Lord has given me. If it wasn’t for His giving me this knowledge and ability to learn and continue learning another language, I definitely would have given up long ago. French has definitely knocked me down more than once and has been quite a lesson in perseverance and in humility. Nothing is more humbling than trying to express yourself in another language which often ends up sounding like a toddler trying to be eloquent. I’m thankful for the doors this language has opened, the compassion I’ve been given for other language learners, the dear friends I have made through this language, the food I’ve been able to try, and the many adventures it has taken me on. {Now, I need to post this in my office for those days when my frustration hits the “Why don’t the French just speak English!?” level. }

Day 25: I am thankful that my students got to try crêpes for the first time today and that I took a break to go see a movie before checking my email this afternoon. Yet another thesis hurdle to jump through, but at least I had the opportunity to get away from the stress and do something fun for a couple of hours. The kids loved the crêpes too! Maybe I’ll have them convinced to go to France based on the food alone by the end of the semester.

Day 26: I am thankful for a very special friend whose birthday is today. I’m so glad we discovered a few years ago over a couple of cups of coffee and a long chat what kindred spirits we were.

Day 27 (late): I am thankful for the dear Capehart family who took me in and made me feel at home on Thanksgiving. I’ve enjoyed many nerdy conversations, learning new games, laughing, drinking super strong coffee, watching movies, relaxing, dancing in the kitchen, and eating great food, but most of all I’ve enjoyed feeling loved, so very happy, and thankful.

Day 28 (late….again ): I am thankful for the many people in my life who have often pushed me out of the “stress box”so to speak that I tend to lock myself in in the midst of the chaos of school and have gotten me to leave the books and go have some fun. There are many of you who’ve done that both recently (like last night) and in the past and even if I did whine about papers needing to be written and books to be read, all of you have insisted that I come out and have fun before I go insane. Thank you! You know who you are, and I’m glad to have friends like you!

Day 29: I’m thankful for my parents: Sam and Mary Latimer. I’m thankful that they got up after the evening service at church on this day (11/29) 44 years ago and became husband and wife. I’m thankful for the Christian example they are and for their love and care over all of us kids. I’m thankful for Dad’s quiet ways of showing that he loves us through fixing things and giving solid advice. I’m thankful for mom’s sweet Southern accent, hospitality, and cooking and for her love for the Lord and her children! My sibs and I have been so blessed to have them as our parents! Happy Anniversary, Mom and Dad!

Day 30: “Behold, what manner of love the Father hath bestowed upon us, that we should be called the sons of God: therefore the world knoweth us not, because it knew him not.Beloved, now are we the sons of God, and it doth not yet appear what we shall be: but we know that, when he shall appear, we shall be like him; for we shall see him as he is.” -1 John 3:1-2. I am thankful that Christ called His children out of the darkness of sin and death and into His glorious light! That we who were vile dead sinners through Christ’s blood should be called the sons of God!? It’s one of those truths and evidences of His love and grace that is so amazing, it is absolutely mind boggling for this finite mind. Oh, what amazing grace! I hope that this truth will always be real to me, and that I will try my hardest to always live a life full of thankfulness beyond this thirty days of thankfulness challenge.

Leave a Reply

