Thirty Days of Thankfulness (Days 3-14)

Well, it happened! Not too surprisingly, I got swamped with school, so keeping up with posting on the blog was out of the question. However, I did keep up with it on social media. Here’s what was posted:

Day 3: I am thankful for the gift of laughter and for my many, many laughing buddies.

Day 4: I am thankful for the right and privilege to vote. Many cultures and nations presently and in the past have not had this right to let their voices be heard. However, many have fought and died in order for us to have this freedom.We have no right to complain about what’s going wrong in this country if we are not willing to exercise this right.

Day 5: I am thankful for progress on research. I’m thankful the light bulb finally came on giving me the direction to go and the right questions to ask to further this project. Not too long ago it was a struggle just to even be able to concentrate on this stuff, thus I’m thankful for being blessed to have the capability and the desire to do this.

Day 6: I am thankful for my students both present and past. They’ve taught me so much about how to teach and not to teach, how to have fun while teaching, how to do damage control on a horrible lesson, and how to always try to do better. I may not always remember their names, but I remember faces, and it is exciting to run into former students and catch up with where they are now in their studies and what they’re up to! Makes me quite content indeed!

Day 7: I am thankful for a God who works in the details. I was traveling on the road after dark last Friday night and had a couple of moments when I felt like God was working even in the small things to make me feel safe and for me to know that He was in control.

Day 8: I am thankful for Google Maps and for safety on the road. Maybe that seems rather silly to be thankful for an app on a phone, but it really saved me multiple times in trying to find my way around in some unfamiliar areas in Ohio this past weekend.

Day 9: I am thankful for the truth of Ephesians 3:20. I often forget this truth when I’m struggling with uncertainty or worry, but time and time again He has proved this to me. Praise God!

Day 10: I am thankful for willing and patient teachers. This applies both to this past weekend when I was learning something with which I was just about thoroughly unfamiliar and to the many teachers in the past and the present who have had such an impact on my life and have helped me find my path. I would have never made it this far without them!

I came home chilled to the bone with our sudden drop in temperatures. Then, I thought of the many accounts I’ve read of soldiers in the trenches and on battlefields who had to withstand horrible weather conditions and did so bravely. Day 11: Thank you, Lord, for our veterans! My hat is off to you in salute, dear soldiers! All of you are my heroes!

Day 12: I’m thankful for the dear fella whom I affectionately call Bruva although he’s more commonly known as Jesse. He always knows how to make me laugh and has been my protector, encourager, fellow French speaker, movie line quoter, and well, he’s quite a Bruva. Wish so very much I could be there for his graduation in December! Wuv oo, Bruva!!!!

Today had barely started, and it was already a test for me of if I was going to have a grateful heart even when things don’t go the way I want them to. It doesn’t matter if I’m tired, cold, deficient of vitamin D, and feeling so behind that I’m stressed out, that’s no excuse for an attitude. Day 13: I’m thankful for a forgiving God who loves me even in my weakness and who gives me repentance and the opportunity to do better today.

Day 14: I am thankful for the kind of quiet that is conducive to productivity. Well, that and consuming coffee flavored ice cream whilst staring at the screen, but that’s beside the point here because….One form is done! *high five* Let’s not think about the five or so other forms for now or the grading that needs to be done, shall we?

Leave a Reply

