Thankful for My Siblings!!!

There are few people in this world who know you like your siblings do.

Latimer Sibs

Hard to get us all together, but this was 5 of the 6 a few years ago…

I was recently asked by some classmates what it was like growing up with so many siblings. The question came as a result of my mentioning more than one brother in the course of one conversation. I smiled and told them that I definitely wouldn’t be the person I am today without having grown up in the family I did and added that I meant that in a good way. They all laughed and started talking about their own experiences in their families.

It’s true though as you’re around siblings during your formative years and see them and they see you at the best and the worst times. Sure, not all of us got along perfectly as kids if we got along at all. However, there’s a certain beauty to growing up and realizing that most if not all that stuff that came between us as kids was so silly and juvenile. By each of us being uniquely who we were, we affected each other as we grew up. Yes, this did often mean there were conflicts, but that was where we learned to state our opinions and defend ourselves though indeed, the frequent use of my parents’ rod of correction taught us quite a bit about being respectful in our manner of stating and demonstrating those opinions. We learned that there were consequences to what we did and said that often went beyond being punished as we could hurt others with our words and actions. We learned to give forgiveness when wronged and learned to ask for forgiveness as hard as it often was after the heat of an argument.

Handsome, aren't they? :)

Handsome bros!!! From L to R: The Big Bro :), Justin (pronounced with a French accent or “Jutin”…it varies) bro, Stephen (pronounced Steefen) bro, and little Bruva. What would families be without a plethora of nicknames anyway? 😀

In my case, I have four brothers who are all my best guy friends and laughing buddies each in their own way. I don’t always get a chance to see or talk to all of them, but whenever we’re together, we pretty much pick up where we left off the last time we were together. They’re also my protection crew as I always feel perfectly safe with them no matter where we go. I also have a sister who was my absolute favorite when I was a little kid. I wanted to be JUST like Julie when I was little, and as a result, I was absolutely devastated when my hair turned brown because I wanted my hair to be just like hers, long and blonde. She and I ended up on very different paths and are usually both quite busy, but it’s nice to sit down and have a chat whenever I’m down for a visit.

Above all, I’m thankful my parents taught us to love each other and to seek the Lord first in our lives. Our family wasn’t perfect because we’re all sinners and frankly, what family is perfect? Yet, we were blessed beyond measure and as the Lord shaped each of us, He also showed us more fully the blessing of each other.

I thank the Lord for each of my siblings. They’ve been a blessing to me in more ways than I can even begin to mention here. I thank Him for our many happy memories and our inside jokes, that we love each other and love being together (as infrequent as that is since we’re scattered all over the place), that we all love the Lord, that we encourage each other, that for me they’re all just a phone call away if “lil sis” or “sistah” (depends on the sib I’m talking to) needs a chat and/or advice, and that we love to laugh together and change mom’s poor WELCOME/COUNTRY block sign to all sorts of variations {I think she inwardly loves it when we do that as much as she sounds exasperated to walk into the living room and see her blocks on the wall mysteriously changed to “MEOW NET” or “ELLEN WOO”}.

Thank you, Lord, for my siblings: Joseph, Julie, Stephen, Justin, and Jesse!!!!

IMG_8443

Leave a Reply

