Thirty Days of Thankfulness

It’s been a whirlwind the last couple of months since I last posted. What blog posts I did work on seemed too focused on the stress and not what was truly important. I’ve accepted a challenge to post one thing I am thankful for each day of November. I decided to mainly do this through blog posts. However, I can’t guarantee that everyday will be posted on here. Depending on where I am and what I’m doing, some days may be posted on Facebook first and then later copied here. I do have a smartphone now, but I don’t like being on it all the time, especially if I’m traveling to see friends, so it may be easier to post on FB during those times.

Grad school steals a lot of my time and energy, and it often causes me to become incredibly self-centered as I try to get through the stress and the never-ending stack of work and research. I pray that just taking a few moments out of my day over the next month will help me to refocus my perspective on where it should be. The Apostle Paul writing to the Thessalonians said:

“Rejoice evermore. Pray without ceasing.In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.” ~1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Thus, I felt that I would begin this challenge thanking the Lord for joy.

Day 1

I am thankful for joy.

Fall 14

This JOY goes beyond a simple “feel good” feeling. It lives within the depths of the soul and is a willingness to go on despite hardship and discouragement as it is the comfort in heartache. It is a joy so deep within us that we cannot even fully describe it. This is also the joy that gives us the ability to laugh and smile with friends and family. Many a hard day has been brightened by the smile and laugh of a dear one.

I thank the Lord for the joy in being freed from the bondage of sin and death which is where this joy comes from. I thank Him for the joy of holding a newborn, of a hug from a dear friend, of a long late night conversation with a friend one hasn’t seen in months, of seeing beauty even on cloudy days, and of a beautiful walk amidst the changing leaves of fall.

Thank you, Lord, for the joy of living!

Leave a Reply

