Banana Monday

I do like a bit of variety on a blog. So, I occasionally (am I the only one that can’t spell that word without Spell Check?) like to note some of my cooking experiments. Cooking experiments: they’re part of my life as a grad student. Why? Because sometimes the best thing for me to do if I’ve reached a point of frustration or a writer’s block is to escape to the kitchen. 🙂 Today, I don’t have to be anywhere, so it’s my cooking day. Yay! Which also means I’m slightly procrastinating on finishing my homework, but details, details….

One thing I love is pancakes!

I’ve always loved pancakes. I used to get so excited as a kid waking up on a Sunday morning and smelling the sweet aroma and hearing the sizzling sound of pancakes cooking in the kitchen! “Mom’s making pancakes! YES!”. My day was officially made! My favorite were pancakes made with peanut butter chips or with blueberries.  I can’t eat chocolate, so Mom would try to improvise since my brothers got to eat chocolate chip pancakes.

But then, I grew up. I still loved pancakes, but it seemed that every single time I ate them, I’d feel full for about two hours and then would feel really weak to the point of nearly fainting afterwards. I mentioned such problems to my doc during a routine check-up a few years ago. After running a few tests just to make sure nothing else was going on, he told me to avoid foods with a lot of white flour and sugar. He specifically told me to avoid pancakes. Nooooo! 😦 Sad Stacey….

I do still splurge on some now and then, but I keep it at a minimum. Several months ago, I was browsing through Facebook and came across a recipe for banana pancakes. It only required a banana and two eggs. I excitedly tried it, but it wasn’t very filling. Through advice from a couple of friends and through some online searches for ideas, I started adding to the recipe to give it some more protein and fiber. What I’m about to show is how far I’ve gotten so far in my experimenting with flour-less pancakes. Mind you, it’s still in the works, but I thought I’d share what I have so far.

Today’s experiment actually came about as a result of a slight accident. I was carrying my groceries inside. Naturally, I can’t fathom having to make two trips from the car to the apartment, so I usually carry about 10 bags in at once. In my attempt to lift my arm up to unlock the door, I dropped the bag containing my eggs. -_- “Right”, I thought, “I should have done this in two trips…next time…maybe…probably not.” When I got inside, I opened the eggs, and one of them was cracked. I set the cracked egg in a bowl and continued putting away groceries wondering what I could cook with it. Being that I got up late today, I had not eaten lunch yet. Ergo, I decided to use that egg and experiment some more with banana pancakes. Here’s the result:

Take a banana and two eggs. You may want to get a riper banana than pictured. I like bananas that aren’t nearly so ripe, but maybe that’s just me.

banana and eggs

I did not picture the cracked egg…that wouldn’t have been very photogenic… 😉

Smash the banana in a bowl until it is relatively smooth. In a separate bowl, beat the two eggs together.

To thicken the batter, add a little bit of baking powder (maybe 1/4 – 1/2 tsp) to the smashed bananas. Then, add about the same amount of vanilla and 1/8 tsp of cinnamon (I might try more next time),1-2 Tbs of peanut butter, and 1-2 Tbs of honey and mix that together. Add the beaten eggs to the mixture and beat it with a whisk. I like to add some oats for added fiber. I don’t really measure this, but I would guess about 1/4 cup of oats and whisk that all together.  I heat a pan, melt some butter in the bottom, and pour the batter into “circles”. Probably more realistically, I’d say they’re ovals. Today, I added some blueberries on top of the cooking “ovals” of batter just to see how that tasted and because blueberries were on sale. Score! Adding blueberries is just typically a good idea, in my opinion. Just flip them like you normally would though the batter will still not be as thick as normal pancakes, but they’re still flip-able.

Cooking Pancakes

Yeah, I’d say they’re ovals….maybe triangular ovals….

I personally like to throw some turkey bacon in the pan after I’ve finished cooking the pancakes. Bacon and syrup! Yum! You can eat the pancakes plain, or add yogurt, maple syrup, honey, pretty much whatever suits your taste buds.

Of course, what would pancakes be without a cup of coffee too, right? I can find multiple motivations for drinking a cup of coffee as is rather obvious by the format of this blog.

Coffee

I think I might try chopping some nuts or even adding yogurt to the batter just to see how that changes up the taste. That’s what I love about this recipe, it’s incredibly flexible and forgiving.

All together now:

-1 banana
-2 eggs
-1/4-1/2 tsp baking powder
-1/4-1/2 tsp vanilla
-1/8 tsp tsp cinnamon
1-2 Tbs peanut butter
1-2 Tbs honey
around 1/4 cup of oats
a few blueberries to add to each pancake (optional)
 
Directions: Melt enough butter to coat the bottom of a skillet. Pour batter (add blueberries if desired) and cook until brown on one side. Flip and cook until brown on the other side. Remove from pan and enjoy!

So, there you have it, a peak into the kitchen of the crazy busy grad student. Though today, it’s been the slow-starting grad student. You see, we don’t really get holidays, we just get…”slow days”. In other words, I don’t have to rush out the door in the morning in a flurry trying to catch the bus. I can just wake up late, hang out in the kitchen drinking coffee while flipping through recipes, and then, after cooking something, I might just sit down and finish everything that needs to get done for tomorrow…

Actually, I better get to “finishing things for tomorrow” pretty soon. Got a lot to do! Well, as Tigger used to say, “TTFN! Ta-Ta For Now!”

One response to “Banana Monday

  1. Pingback: Easy Flour-less Pancakes « Keitochan Says:

Leave a Reply

