5 Facts about…Indiana

Late last night while I was taking one of many breaks from grading compositions, I was browsing through my news-feed on Facebook. The” (fill in a number) facts about me” status updates seems to be the fad at the moment after everyone has been able to change their profile pictures back from being giraffes. I read through a friend’s facts and then hit “like” not realizing this would involve me in the new status update “number of facts about me” thing until I got a message from said friend who gave me the number 5. I sat there staring at my circles and marks all over this kid’s composition while thinking, I really don’t want to give up 5 facts about myself. How could I change this up a little?

I’ve been ruminating over a topic all day probably when I should have been paying attention to my professor explaining briefly about syntax trees and the *annoying* liaison rules in French. Yeah, French, way to go tripping me up there  -_- …sorry, rabbit trail.

Anyway, I’ve decided to talk about 5 random facts I’ve learned in the last 3.5 months of living in Indiana from a Texan point of view even if I’m no longer considered a Texan citizen. I’m still a Texan! So there! 🙂

5 Facts about Indiana

1. You can drive across the state of Indiana in about 3.5-4 hours. *pause* Let that sink in for a minute. For my fellow Texans out there, that means, I can be in Ohio, Michigan, Kentucky, or Illinois in less than 4 hours typically depending on the route! After spending most of the last 13 or so years with my family driving 8-9 hours just to get out of TX to get to Georgia, this realization was strangely exciting and weird.

2. Indiana-ians call themselves Hoosiers. Nobody really knows the exact reason why though there’s at least a few ideas out there as to why, but that’s just what they are. Though from what I understand, that’s also the name of one of the mascots of a team that’s a rival of Purdue, so I guess you have to be careful what part of the state you’re in when you claim that title. *shrug* Purdue people who call themselves Boilermakers just blow train whistles and hammer down…or something…*choo choo*! Wait, so are Boilermakers Hoosiers too? Guess, I still need to learn more about that one.

3. The Yankees still live up north from what I’m told by Hoosiers. From what they say, “Yankees” are people from New England. They’re very quick to point out that each part of the state of Indiana has its own unique accent which comes partly from a Kentucky influence. Furthermore, they say “The Northerners live up there ’round Crown Point.” o.O I’m from Texas, y’all, you’re all from up North. This is how a Texan views the country:

texas_not_texas

4. It gets cold too soon up here, and I’ve not even experienced full-blown winter yet. O_O I may end up looking like Randy from The Christmas Story that first big snow. I’m a bit of a baby when it comes to the cold, so this is going to be one of those “character building” experiences, I imagine. The Hoosiers seem to find it incredibly funny when I tell them that we get snow in Texas too. I get the idea it’s different, but we do!….Stop snickering over there!

Randy-Snow-Suit-A-Christmas-Story-2

5. As a Southerner, I always had a certain idea in the back of my mind that people who lived up North couldn’t possibly be as kind or as hospitable as we are in the South. I didn’t think they were mean necessarily, just not as friendly perhaps. Thankfully, I’ve been proven wrong. I’ve been taken in like family by many of my new friends and have met some really sweet people. I’d think I was back in the South again by how sweetly I’ve been treated. However, one thing I have learned, Hoosiers are super nice and friendly until they get into their cars. If a Hoosier gets in his car, watch out! I’m learning a whole new meaning of the term “defensive driving” up here.

So, there’s 5 of the many facts I’ve learned about living in Indiana. My next project is to find out what “dishes” are mainly only found in Indiana, and if one can find said dishes without it containing sauerkraut. Oh, on a food note, don’t try “Mexican food” up here….it’s not Mexican food. That is I guess my “6th” thing learned. If I want Mexican food, I have to make it myself which is probably healthier anyway. I will report my findings once they are “found”.

2 responses to “5 Facts about…Indiana

  1. Your food quest has me remembering smoked ham, and that led me to another leap you might find interesting.
    In the 1850 Census (the first to note the state of birth for individuals), a third of the adult population in Indiana came from the South — mostly North Carolina, where many Quakers left for Indiana in reaction to the evils of a slave-based economy.
    Even though many of the individuals in time left the Quaker faith (turning Methodist, especially), much of that Piedmont imprint remains.

    • Wow! That is interesting! That may explain some of the accents I’m hearing. I’m taking a sociolinguistics graduate seminar as one of my classes this semester, so accents and the origins of accents definitely peaks my interest! Thanks for the info!

Leave a Reply

