The Girl Who Reads….A Response/Analysis

Yesterday, I was tagged on Facebook to read this article written by Rosemarie Urquico on another blog and thoroughly enjoyed it:

http://nonamerah.wordpress.com/2011/10/03/869/

I’ve definitely always been a bookworm as are most of the members of my family and many of my friends. We have long discussions talking about books, plots, characters, and what we liked or didn’t like about how the author wrote. Not surprisingly, many of these discussions have taken place over a cup of coffee. We also probably over analyze the movies which just frankly often don’t do justice to the book.

My response to the article is more of a commentary, I suppose. It’s definitely thrilling to think that some guy out there might actually cherish a girl who reads (I might have hope!?). However, this idea was recently tainted by a book I read (Ironic, right?). I’m sure most of you have probably heard of Madame Bovary whether you had to suffer through it in a literature class or later read it like I had to in my 19th Century French Literature class.

If you’ve read the story, you probably know where I’m going with this. If not, I’ll sum up in a couple of sentences. Madame Bovary is the wife of a doctor.  All her life she read novels and romances and expects her life to be the same. However, her husband is boring compared to the heroes of her novels, so she seeks satisfaction through having affairs and racking up debt. I won’t tell you the pathetic end to the story because it’s just not worth repeating.

My point is, find a girl who reads for pleasure, yes, but who also realizes that the greatest story on earth is her own. 

Life is always an adventure whether or not the story is told. Thus, I do agree with the article that life with a girl who reads can be a lot of fun, but make sure that she realizes the context she lives in. Let books enrich her life, not give her false hopes and false expectations.

The girl who writes can be just as much fun. Otherwise, I wouldn’t have the stories that my great-grandmother wrote about her life as a child and then later as a wife and mother. She was a great writer who left a legacy her family would cherish for years. Her story has never been told outside of her family, it has never been publicized or made into a movie, but her stories of daily life are precious to me.

No, I’m not saying that I’m that perfect combination of a girl. I enjoy my books and spent a lot of my childhood engrossed in books. But, I like to get out of my books and live life too. I’ve spent the last few months stuck in books for school and am enjoying a little breather right now with my ever present companion–cup o’ coffee.

To my dear lady friends, enjoy your books and learn from them. However, live your life knowing that many of the plots and stories were made up in the author’s mind.

Much as I love Mr. Darcy, *sigh* I have to realize that whoever my future husband is to be should not have to live up to that expectation. That would be unfair because I certainly know that I could not live up to the expectation of another book character such as Elizabeth or others.

Read books, learn things, but live life too!

5 responses to “The Girl Who Reads….A Response/Analysis

  1. Very true! I find it rather hypocritical when people get irritated about girls liking Edward or Jacob when they themselves idolize Mr. Darcy/Knightley. It’s the same thing! Just because it’s in an old-fashioned package does not make it any more pure. 😉 Nice post! I, too, enjoyed the book one.

  2. Well written! I think Mrs. Duggar said the best way to maintain a marriage was for men to keep their eyes from wandering and women to keep their eyes off of romance novels.

  3. You are very wise to learn now that real life and love is not like the romance novels would lead one to believe. We can be deceived in believing that we are somehow missing out on something,because we want it to be like we imagined in our own minds or from the minds of the authors who wrote the novels. This can cause much discontentment and unhappiness.

Leave a Reply

