That Pronoun “I”

I’ve been lately trying to work on my conversation with people. I feel like that too often my sentences begin with “I” or something about me. I hate that. The most important topic is definitely not me!

It usually starts off with talking about something about school or something going on and what’s worse is that I keep catching myself interrupting people with the only intention of telling my own story. How mean and self-centered is that? I am wanting so much to be a follower of Christ and to work on matching that description of the Proverbs 31 woman. This weekend when I was struggling with this, the last verse in that passage came to mind:

Give her of the fruit of her hands; and let her own works praise her in the gates.

My own works should be praising me, not my mouth. Not trying to say that I need to be praised for good deeds, but if I’m living like I should be living, someone should be able to look at the life I live and know that I belong to Christ. Thus, as John said “He must increase, but I must decrease.”

That little pronoun “I” is just one letter, and one vowel sound (with a little bit of a diphthong if you’re from the South). Yet, it gets me into so much trouble if it is not used properly. Every accomplishment, every victory is completely because of God’s work in me and His giving me the knowledge I need to continue in my studies and in my daily life.

By myself, I can do nothing, but Christ working in me makes the impossible possible.

Leave a Reply

