Free Indeed!

Today as I was heading to work, I was listening to the radio when the DJ played the famous speech of Red Skelton’s about the pledge of allegiance and what each word means. I have heard this speech several times, but this particular time it left me close to tears.

God knows I love my country and have been raised to love my country and pray for her and honor her. But, I see the attacks daily on her freedom as the bureaucrats and certain others in our government chip away at our liberties by unlawfully passing legislation and doing countless other things trying to make it a government ruled by dictators rather than a government of the people, by the people, and for the people. I was feeling so troubled about this as I listened to Red Skelton talking about freedom and what our pledge means.

Then, it was like God revealed something to me. It was something I already knew but had never really thought about. Do you remember how there is freedom in Christ? Without that freedom in Christ, there is no true freedom. Our Founding Fathers knew this as they formed our government. This verse then came to mind:

If the Son therefore shall make you free, ye shall be free indeed. John 8:36

So, yes, it bothers me to know that our freedoms are being chipped away, but I also know that even if it is the Lord’s will that our nation become a tyranny, we have a freedom in Christ that cannot be taken away no matter what kind of government we are put under.

I will salute those waving flags and think and pray for those fighting to preserve what freedom we have. However, I cannot forget that even as much as I love my country, I love my Lord more than any country and through Him is true freedom.

Leave a Reply

