Still Be My Vision

The other day I went in to see the eye doctor. I’m not a huge fan of these visits since in the past they had to run all of these crazy tests because of a couple of concerns about eye pressure. However, this visit went very well. I still found it rather humorous when after I took my contacts out, the girl asked me to tell her what letters I could see under HZK and I could barely make out HZK. There’s also that test where they puff air into your eye. I never can stay still for that one and usually end up jumping whenever it does happen. Then there’s the whole “Does 1 look clearer than 2 or are they about the same?” I was glad to be through but also glad to have a renewal of my prescription. I can’t imagine living without my glasses and contacts. I wouldn’t be able to see very much of anything!

So, this morning I was listening to some hymns playing while enjoying a little quiet time. “Be Thou My Vision” began being sung and that got me to thinking. Just as I have trouble with my physical vision, I believe we are all pretty much blind spiritually until God opens our eyes to see. But even then since we are still here on earth, our vision still becomes fuzzy. We get confused and worried about the things going on around us and forget to see things going on around us through the vision of our Savior. The hymn is asking for the Lord to be our vision that we might always be looking to Him as we journey through life because He is our greatest treasure. Just as when I put on my glasses in a desire to see better, we should desire to have Jesus as our vision on how we look at the world and those around us.

Daily seeking Him in His word is much like daily renewing our vision prescription. The Lord bless you today!

Be Thou My Vision, O Lord of my heart;
Naught be all else to me, save that thou art.
Thou my best thought, by day or by night,
Waking or sleeping, Thy presence my light.
2 responses to “Still Be My Vision

Leave a Reply

