Happiness

While in France and after just hearing of my grandmother’s death, I wrote this entry in my journal. Since I have been hearing so much lately about what people think is true happiness, I thought I might share this. This is my first entry in this particular journal.

Friday, March 27, 2009

I’ve often wondered what truly is the best way to begin a new journal. Does one begin with a funny pun or by quoting some solemn line? Or, does it really matter? I think I’d like to begin this journal with my thought of what true happiness is. I know that doesn’t sound very original, but it seems from what I have observed lately that most people are searching for happiness but are not finding it. Or, they have the wrong idea of what happiness truly is.

For me, true happiness can only be found in the Lord Jesus Christ and in doing His will. I was told a few weeks ago by a French professor that true happiness is impossible to find. I really pitied her. Today in my daily 4 hour French class, we discussed what happiness is while practicing our French. It saddened me to realize just how empty and fake some of the ideas presented were.

My happiness is more than just feeling good. To be honest, right now I am very sad. Yet, I have a joy that is forever in my heart no matter my present circumstance.

Yes, one may feel excited and elated when something good happens, but it will not last. Nothing in life is sure except the Lord and His love. When one is blessed with that, one has no need to worry about his future or really about any aspect of his life. The Lord will take care of him. Sadly, very often the child of God forgets how truly rich he is. He often becomes like Peter taking his eyes off the Lord to regard the storm around him. Yet, even when that happens, the Lord is there to catch him and give him grace and strength.

My grandmother passed away today around 8:30 a.m. Texas time. She has suffered many years with Alzheimer’s, so she is finally at peace. She is at her dear Lord’s feet now. Even with her Alzheimer’s if you mentioned the Lord, she would immediately start talking about how much she loved Him and how good He had been to her. I’m glad she’s happy now, but I miss her. It also saddens me that I cannot be there. I have one month left here in France. The Lord has given me peace though.

“for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content” ~Philippians 4:11

“He giveth power to the faint; and to them that have no might he increaseth strength.” ~ Isaiah 40:29

God bless each of you today and know that as His child you are made rich in his grace, richer than the wealthiest man on earth!!

2 responses to “Happiness

  1. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

Leave a Reply

