Continuing on….

So much has been going on during my pause from blogging. It is indeed down to the last few days of classes and then finals. I’m so exhausted from lack of sleep and what seems like a constant stream of assignments and projects due.

However, I’m feeling quite accomplished this evening after five hours of sleep, 3 cups of coffee, and the strength the Lord has given me! I have nearly finished my editing part of a large written group project which has been a bit of a headache all semester, have written a reflection to go along with that paper, written another reflection over my last observation at a school, and even went to French club for our final meeting/potluck!

Of course, the most important thing I haven’t mentioned yet was the door the Lord opened for me just a couple of days after my last post. He opened the door for me to find a place to live. It is a small efficiency apartment about five minutes from campus. I had been praying for the Lord to help me find somewhere that would fit my small budget as well as not be too far from campus. I call it “Mon Placard” which is French for “my closet”. I’m still sitting here in amazement at how things worked out!

To explain…

I had emailed this particular apartment complex I had found online to inquire about their efficiencies. The lady replied and said that they wouldn’t have one open until end of May and told me how much the security deposit would be as well as the cleaning fee and such. I was not very excited about the fees and had hoped to find somewhere to live sooner than end of May, so I was beginning to look elsewhere. Crazily, the next day the same lady emailed me back and told me that she had a resident who because of a family emergency needed to get out of his lease and wondered if I’d be able to take it over. She said that I could move in immediately and wouldn’t have to pay the fees and would simply take over his lease for the next two months. I would also not have to worry about rent for April because he had already paid it. I was in shock and immediately called her to ask if I could come see the place. I did not rush into it though. I got a copy of the lease after I looked at the apartment and had an old family friend as well as my dad look it over. Dad had a few questions he wanted to ask when he came to see the place for himself and seemed to be satisfied with the answers as well as the atmosphere. Thankfully, he helped me with the move-in check list. There were things that I would not have even noticed had he not pointed them out! Such a blessing to have such a dad!

I moved in this past weekend. I live on the third floor, and my dear friends and family were so amazing in helping me move up all those stairs since there are no elevators. It was a bit of a chaotic weekend but we got everything moved in. Unfortunately, I’m still having to rearrange furniture since my internet is giving me fits trying to find a good connection for the cable modem. I’m still having problems with it. Thankfully, whoever my neighbor is has an unsecured wireless network, so I can get a faster speed on my laptop.  Although his network wants to know if I’d like to connect to his XBox….I think not!

Well, as I am staring at an ever growing stack of dishes, I believe, I shall try to clean them and then I hope to prepare for an early bedtime. *fingers crossed*

Quote of the day:

For this commandment which I command thee this day, it is not hid from thee, neither is it far off. It is not in heaven, that thou shouldest say, Who shall go up for us to heaven, and bring it unto us, that we may hear it and do it? Neither is it beyond the sea that thou shouldest say, Who shall go over the sea for us, and bring it unto us, that we may hear it, and do it? But the word is very nigh unto thee, in thy mouth, and in thy heart, that thou mayest do it.

I read this the other night and felt like the Lord spoke to me through it. I have been struggling with some confusion in relation to some of the things my professors have been teaching me. Such a comfort to know that God has given us His word! He has placed it within the hearts of His children and that does not change no matter what a professor says or claims is untrue.

Leave a Reply

